Updates and stuff

I just started my MICU rotation (medicine ICU) this week. I’ve been on the medicine wards, but haven’t done any ICU rotations so I’m pretty excited to learn some new things! The past 2 days have been early morning starts (got to the hospital at 6:30AM today, yikes!) but my residents are super nice and chill and my attending likes to teach a lot. I know it’ll be a great few weeks and I’m going to learn a ton!

The latest season of Grey’s Anatomy is on Hulu and I wanted to watch some TV while I ate dinner tonight. My other favorite shows (ie. New Girl) hasn’t had any new episodes for awhile so it was either Grey’s or the news….guess what I picked?! I haven’t watched this show since my first year of medical school and since then I’ve learned a whole heck of a lot more medicine. It’s weird to watch it now. I find myself critiquing the show and picking out all the unrealistic parts of the show.

Grey’s Anatomy vs Real Life 

  1. WHERE ARE ALL THE MED STUDENTS? If this is a real academic hospital like they say with residents, then why are there ZERO med students on this show.
  2. The surgery residents always show up when the sun is bright and shining for rounds. FALSE. As a residents (even on MICU and definitely on surgery) you always round when the sun is still down, which means you pre-round basically in the middle of the night. Heeelllloooo 5AM
  3. Umm, Pediatric surgery attendings do not deliver babies. But they do on TV.
  4. Crazy awesome surgeries that would take HOURS, many many many hours, are done in time for the residents to get lunch. Since they got there to round when the sun was up, that’s a real time of uhh 3 hours?
  5. Intubating on Grey’s: “shh stop talking. We’re going to intubate you now” – no paralytics. No sedative medications. I can’t say I’ve ever intubated someone as a med student, but I still know that you usually don’t intubate a talking patient especially without meds on boards especially without paralytics! (larygospasm anyone?)
  6. The surgeons always look like they’ve showered, put on makeup, moisturizer, and got 8 hours of sleep the night before. Makeup never happens, 8 hours of sleep was a dream, and showers happened as often as possible.

Until next time yall! 🙂

Leave a comment